My Writing Office

The Thing that Is Driving Me To Quit Smoking

I’m finally getting the chance to start my journey towards quitting smoking in writing here on the blog. And, it helps to have a sponsor that I will give the nickname of Velma from Scooby Doo who gives me writing prompts and I hope she doesn’t mind that I gave her that nickname. I just chose it to cause of how smart she is with all of this.  And, she said to start with making a list of all the reasons I want to quit, which is what I plan to do in a fashion here.See I have to reason out every item on a list, so I am going to write out every item in the list as well as why it drives me. So, let’s get started.

I have to start off with my health since smoking is not helping it any as well as making it worse. Nothing like huffing and puffing at the top of a hill or even wheezing. Along with my health, I am supposed to be taking care of myself and that includes my teeth and I can’t really do that while smoking. And, it would be nice to smell better again and have a nice smelling apartment once more. I mean even after I quit I will still be burning scented oil just because I like the aroma therapy. But, it would be nice to not have to do it because of trying to cover up the smell of smoke in the apartment and on me.

And, granted I don’t spend a ton of money on tobacco, but $360 a year could go to a bunch of other things. And, that is just what is budgeted for it. I am sure I spend at least a little more than that on it. And, it would be nice to put that towards my tithing at church and have more left over for other things. Plus, there are other religious reasons driving me. I can’t be baptized in my church till I quit smoking. And, I really do want to be baptized in this church. It might also make people worry less about me since I have Epilepsy. They worry I might have a seizure while smoking and I understand that.

Most people would think with all those reasons t should be easy to quit, but not when you are physically and mentally powerless over a drug. And, that is how I am starting the journey back to regaining my life with the help of God. One entry at a time, one day at a time. I am just getting started as I head for the quit day. And, I am taking you all along for the ride as well as hoping this is the time I beat this beast and get the monkey off my back.

But, I have rambled on enough for one entry about smoking and some will be longer than others as well as some will be shorter than others like this one. Feel free to leave questions and comments below. As for me, I have homework to do and a couple of articles to work on for next week. Plus, some reading I want to get done. If you are a smoker reading this and some of this ring true for you let me know I’ll invite you to a meeting for quitting smoking or even if you chew tobacco and want to quit that and some of this sounds familiar I will bring you to a meeting. For now, just think about it. *Tips his hat and walks out the door*.

This entry was published on July 29, 2017 at 11:04 pm. It’s filed under Quitting Smoking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

